Fort Worth Elects Global Leaders

Fort Worth Elects Global Leaders

2018-09-28 02:03

Fort Worth, TX – Brackett & Ellis’ Veronica Chavez Law Takes the Reins

Newly elected officers at Fort Worth Sister Cities International’s 33rd Annual Meeting, are Chairwoman, Veronica Chavez Law, Brackett & Ellis; Chair Elect, Becky Renfro Borbolla, Renfro Foods; Past/Nominating Chair, Johnny Campbell, Sundance Square; Treasurer, Frank Tilley, SeatonHill; Secretary, Casey Dyer Oliver, Texas A&M; Development Chair, Rich Lowe, Shackelford, Bowen, McKinley & Norton, LLP; Long Range Planning Chair, Pat Miller, Texas Christian University; Exchanges and Outreach Chair, Dr. Sheryl Harris, Tarrant County College; and Marketing Chair, Lydia Rickard, LCOMM Marketing.

New board members include: Jason Brown, Doss, Knight & Associates; Florence Bruner, Firehouse Auto Sales; David Campbell, Huitt-Zollars; Shanna Cate; Trinity River Vision Authority; Jeff Dyer, Crescent Realty; Cindy Johnson; Rachel Malone, Merrill Lynch; Bonnie Melhart, Texas Christian University; Steve Peglar, WhitleySmith Company; and Andy Roseliep, BB&T.

The Bob Bolen Award for Outstanding Board Leadership was awarded to Dr. Michael Roemer. The Rotary Club of Fort Worth was awarded the Eisenhower Award for Organizational Involvement and Matt Graves received the prestigious Volunteer of the Year award.

San Antonio Mayor Ron Nirenberg, Chairman of the national office of Sister Cities International in Washington, D.C., spoke to the Members Circle about the importance of sister city relationships. “As mayor, I believe that the most important infrastructure any city can invest in is its relationships with other people, cultures, and cities. By building bridges for peace and creating cities of opportunity, we can thrive in a 21st global economy,” said Nirenberg. “These connections not only add cultural value, but have unlimited economic potential.”

Board members returning for a 2nd term include: Michael Crain, Dr. Paul Geisel, Dr. Michael Jacobsson and Walter Stucker. City chairs to serve a two-year term are: Bonnie Melhart, Bandung, Indonesia; Jason Brown, Budapest, Hungary; Robert Fitzgerald, Guiyang, China; Nommo Donald,  Mbabane, eSwatini; Libby Watson, Nagaoka, Japan; Rachel Malone, Nîmes, France; Dr. Michael Jacobsson, Reggio Emilia, Italy; Florence Bruner, Toluca, Mexico; and Shanna Cate, Trier, Germany.

Click here to see photos from the event.