Sister Cities Youth Board Elected for 2023-24 School Year

Sister Cities Youth Board Elected for 2023-24 School Year

2023-05-09 09:56

On May 7, the Fort Worth Youth International board elected officers for the 2023-24 school year. Stay tuned to hear about their innovative plans to engage youth in the Fort Worth community.

A celebration was held to thank the outgoing board for their many accomplishments during the year. Led by President Leah Peterson, the board hosted a Taste of Sister Cities kickoff event, volunteered at the Mayor’s International International Dinner, Lunar New Year Celebration, and Japanese Children’s Day, educated their peers about New Year celebrations around the world, and organized a service project for Refugee Services of North Texas.

Thank you to our outgoing board and congratulations to the new board!

2023-24 Officers

  • President: Delia Sanchez Juarez, World Languages Institute
  • Vice President: Alexandra Rodriguez, Fort Worth Academy of Fine Arts
  • Secretary: Abigail Cawyer, Nolan Catholic High School
  • Fundraising Officer: Nara Acuna-Guba, Fort Worth Country Day School
  • Public Relations Officer: Denise Smith, Young Women’s Leadership Academy
  • Cultural Orientations and Programs Officer: Andrew Booth, Fort Worth Country Day School
  • Community Outreach Officer: Myiesha Sharma, Flower Mound High School

At Large Members, Harashin Scholars

  • Laila Abu Tobeh, Aledo High School
  • Anjali Ferguson, Texas Academy of Biomedical Sciences
  • Dorothea Hart, Booker T. Washington High School
  • Jonathan Pulido, World Languages Institute
  • Connor Smith, Paschal High School

At Large Members, School Representatives

  • International Newcomer Academy: Christian Jones
  • World Languages Institute: Aileene Santillan
  • Paschal High School: Sam Brown & Valeria Venegas
  • Western Hills High School: Vianet Garcia & Daisy Daniels
  • Arlington Heights High School: Keiko Sanchez
  • Northside High School: Dolores Mills
  • Trinity Valley School: Grace Hackworth
  • Young Women’s Leadership Academy: Aixa Rodiguez & Sidney Jones
  • McLean Middle School: Leah Mocek
  • Home School: Antti Havia
  • Southwest Christian School: Carson Stavenhagen
  • IM Terrell: Ava Stubblefield
  • Fort Worth Country Day School: Gigi Schueneman
  • All Saints Episcopal School: Erin Miller
  • Southlake Carroll High School: Lauren Oliver
  • Crowley Collegiate High School: Shynice Conner