2013-12-05 12:06 Volunteer of the Year, Rose Knoop and Board Leadership Award winner, Dr. Staussa Ervin

Membership Celebrates 2013 at Annual Meeting

Newly elected officers at the annual meeting and holiday party last night were Board Chair, Ann Rice; Chair-Elect Michael Bennett, Bennett Benner Pettit; Secretary, Eva Bonilla; and Treasurer, Mike Thomas, Inwood Bank. New board members include: Johnny Campbell,  Greg Kalina, David Parker, Paxton Motheral, Nancy Lopez, Tracy Williams, Asusena Resendiz, Ronda Stucker, David Johnson and Andrea Puente.

Chairwoman Ann Rice and Nagaoka Chair Tom Brents

“The annual meeting is a time to review accomplishments and recognize those responsible for our success,” said Ann Rice Chairwoman of the Board. “This year we signed a five-year contract with the City of Fort Worth, celebrated 25 years as partners with Trier, Germany and Nagaoka, Japan and coordinated youth exchanges to our sister cities for nearly 100 students.”

Sister Cities also recognized individuals and businesses for outstanding service. The Fort Worth Japanese Society was awarded the Eisenhower Award for Organizational Involvement. Dr. Staussa Ervin was awarded the prestigious Bob Bolen Award for Outstanding Board Leadership and Janet Diaz was awarded the Yamagata Emerging Leaders Scholarship. Youth Volunteer of the Year went to Sarika Sabnis and Volunteer of the Year to Rose Knoop.

Bob, Catrina & Eva Bonilla and Harvey Yamagata

Other elected officers include: Past Chair/Nominating, Brad Mahon, Murphy Mahon Keffler & Farrier; Development Chair, Becky Renfro Borbolla, Renfro Foods; Government Relations, Michael Hyatt, UBS Financial Services; Marketing Chair, Kara Peterson, Alcon Laboratories; Program & Exchanges Chair, Dr. Staussa Ervin, TCC; At-Large members Travis DeVault, BNSF Railways, James Meintjes, JP Morgan Chase and Mary Jo Polidore, DFW International Airport; Bandung Chair, Nancy Lopez; Budapest Chair, Mary Alyce Zimmerman; Guiyang Chair, Albon Head, Jackson Walker, LLP; Mbabane Chair, Tracy Williams, TCU Neely School of Business; Nagaoka Chair, Ronda Stucker; Reggio Emilia Chairs, Mark & Robin Nurdin, Bank of Texas; and   Toluca Chairs, Richard Casarez, ONCOR and Asusena Resendiz, Hispanic Chamber of Commerce.

Mayor Pro Tempore Zim & Mary Alyce Zimmerman

“We have many things to look forward to next year. We’re going to Hungary & Austria in June; we’re moving into City Hall; welcoming Toluca, Mexico’s new mayor to Fort Worth; arranging a trade mission from Trier, Germany; and we have nearly 100 students going to our sister cities on educational exchanges,” said Ms. Rice. “We do this because we’re citizen diplomats. We care what the world thinks about the U.S. and we want to know more about the rest of the world.

For more information, please contact Mae Ferguson, President/CEO at 817/632-7104.

Find out how you can be involved check out our full calendar to see all events


Awards, Events & Workshops, Reports, Sister City News, and Uncategorized